I might be a bit masochistic…

As if I’m not busy enough with the knitting of Jayne hats, the (hopefully) knitting of a couple of Christmas presents, work, Testify! and so on I keep signing up for fanfic exchanges and challenges.

Why?

Is there some masochistic part of my brain that feels the need to pile more and more on top of me?

Scream

(taken by Ray+Wendy)

Don’t get me wrong, I love to write. Heck, I’ve participated in NaNoWriMo for the past 4 years. I’m an avid fanfic writer. I have two original novels that I’m working on (one of which is in the final editing stages) and I blog like a mad woman. I write our blog at work, I write here, I write for The GeeksFTW and I’ve even put in my name for hopefully another geeky blogging gig.

And I ask myself after each thing, “Why?”

I’m not sure what the answer to that is.

Perhaps I hate being bored.

Perhaps I can’t say no.

Perhaps, perhaps, perhaps.

Suddenly I want to sing Cake tonight at karaoke. But I digress…

Lucky for me the writing and knitting I can do while enjoying other things like the company of friends, watching a dvd or listening to music. Other things, like reading, I have to do when I’m taking a break from the others. An added bonus is that knitting often eases off the pain from a migraine (which are more frequent right now thanks to the many storms of the season) and it tends to calm me down if I get frustrated at work.

The phrase “I knit so I don’t kill people” hits very close to home.

I don’t mind having a waiting list for the Jayne hats. I’ll knit those puppies as fast as my little hands can move.

The writing, however, is not something that people are necessarily asking me specifically for. Instead I seek that out. I belong to a few fic communities and when they post up challenges and events I find it hard to resist the call and the next thing I know I’m posting a comment and signing myself up. This month I have two fic events that I’m participating in and one that is already finished but will be posted on the 5th.

Let’s add into that the three blogs that I currently write for and the one I’m hoping to add to that.

I really do think I’m insane.

Would I trade it for anything?

Not a chance. You’ll have to pry my keyboard and knitting needles from my cold dead fingers.

~ by rumielf on November 30, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
