My Christmas-related rant….

I am now prepared to piss people off. No offense to the people that this is directed at but honestly, I gotta say it.

We’re less than a week from Christmas and I admit, there’s something that’s been bugging the hell out of me that I need to get off my chest.

The day after Thanksgiving tends to be the traditional “start” of the Christmas season. That’s when folks put up decorations, break out the tree and start playing Christmas music.

And that’s where the irritation starts.

You see, I like most Christmas music. True, I’m not big on hearing “The First Noel” 4 times in one work day but I like listening to it in that one month where it’s usually acceptable. Me, I tend to branch out with my Christmas music and add plenty of Trans-Siberian Orchestra, Straight No Chaser, Twisted Tunes and so on. I love non-traditional tunes as well as the old favorites.

Though if I hear that damn dog barking song of “Jingle Bells” one more time I might scream.

That one song aside….

I love Christmas music.

That being said, I would like to take this moment to say to all the folks around me every day who bash the hell out of said holiday music:

Shut the frak up!

Seriously guys, I’m sick of hearing how much you hate Christmas music EVERY SINGLE DAY! You only have to put up with it for ONE MONTH. Just a single month. Did you ever stop to consider that there are folks out there who are suddenly becoming afraid to admit that they enjoy Christmas music for fear of having their Holiday Music-Hating friends dis them for it? I’m sick of adjusting my playlists and listening materials for friends just because they’re in a totally un-holiday mood. I’m tired of skipping over my favorite Christmas songs to appease their angry feelings.

As of last Friday I decided to say to hell with it and I’m gonna play my Christmas music no matter what. I’ve decided that the people around me who don’t like it can just suck it up until Christmas.

So there.

/rant

Harley Quinn Christmast Ornament

my Harley Quinn Ornament

~ by rumielf on December 20, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
