Air Travel and Knitting

I’ve flown for as long as I can remember. I’m used to security checkpoints and the changing regulations. I adapted when they refused to let any non-ticketed person onto the concourse. I adapted when they required you to remove shoes at the checkpoint. I adapted to the “no liquid” through the checkpoint (even though I still swear that’s a ploy to make you spend an ungodly amount of money on a single bottle of water once you’re past).

I’m even adapting to these new scanning things. Though for the record, I’m firmly in the “opt-out” camp. I fully intend to make them grope me in view of the public and any small children that might be around. After all, we need to make sure those kids know it’s not okay for strangers to touch them but TSA agents are allowed. I’m also planning to sport my “(yes…they’re real)” shirt just in case said TSA agents have any questions about my boobs and if they are weapons. (though I’m pretty sure I might be able to suffocate someone with them)

But in my adaptation I tend to check the TSA list of prohibited items pretty often. I remember checking it the trip in which I took up knitting. I wanted to make sure I could have my knitting needles and scissors in my carry-on. Sure enough they were allowed.

It’s a good thing they were (and still are) because man…I don’t know what I’d do if I could keep my hands busy while in that endless cycle of waiting.

Yarn Cutter

Yarn Cutter

This time I thought I’d maybe bring my cute little yarn cutter with me instead of the scissors. After all, it had to be allowed, right? It’s s circular metal blade that is completely enclosed in a very dull metal case. The slits where you slide your yarn through to be cut are even curved. There’s no way to get any part of the human body between there to be cut. I figured this would be the safer option as I’m always a little nervous they might take my scissors (small embroidery ones) away from me.

Well, I checked today and according to the TSA site, knitting needles and the accessories needed to pursue knitting or needlepoint hobbies are allowed EXCEPT for those yarn/thread cutters.

Yarn cutter and scissors

Yarn cutter and scissors

So that means that I can carry on my scissors and even some 13″ metal knitting needles but I can’t carry on an item that could only do damage to someone if I made them choke on it? Seriously?

I’m extremely glad I checked as I’d hate to leave that yarn cutter behind. Those things are deceptively expensive. But still, the logic of what they allow and don’t allow completely confuses me.

Don’t get me wrong, I love that I can carry on my knitting needles and scissors. Of course, I tend to only carry on short metal circular needles and all my other needles are bamboo. I check most of my metal needles in my suitcase. I try to avoid any trouble that might come up regardless of what the TSA website says.

Still, can you explain the logic to me? I honestly want to know.

~ by rumielf on December 22, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
