Injuries and Knitting

Christmas is over but New Year’s Eve still stares me in the face and reminds me that I have to clean house before Friday night. That’s what I get for traveling for the holidays.

Still, even with the delayed flight out of Nashville (I was in that airport for 4 hours!), the “enhanced pat down” at Nashville, the crazy last minute gift wrapping on Christmas Eve, the hectic travels of Christmas Day and the waking up at 3am for my flight back to Nashville (regular metal detector this time) it was a good holiday.

I’ll blog about the whole “pat down” experience later but for now I wanted to give you guys an update on the Jayne Hat knitting.

As many of you know, a week before Christmas I managed to pull a muscle (or pinch a nerve briefly) in my neck that essentially made sob for hours in the wee hours of the morning. I was in such pain that I couldn’t move my head or my right art at all without tears. And I have a pretty high pain threshold when it comes to my shoulders. (I don’t even have an awesome story about how it happened. I woke up at 3am and rolled over. I thought I had a mild stiff neck. Then it got worse. No zombies, no ninjas…just me rolling over. Totally not cool.)

It took 3 days for me to just be able to look left or right even a bit without sobbing. Unfortunately that also meant that my knitting came to a sudden halt for a few days as the lack of use of my right arm was a bit of a hindrance. Luckily by the time I flew to OH I was back to knitting but at half speed with frequent breaks to rest my arm.

That means I fell behind on my Jayne Hat knitting (as well as another 2 Christmas gifts) over the holidays.

The good news is that the rush order only lacks bobbles, a hat for trade was finished, and I’m over a third done with the next. While the shoulder and neck still pain and I’m still forced to take breaks, my knitting is back up to normal speed.

I’m also going through Jayne Hat yarn like crazy! Good thing I ordered many many skeins recently during a sale. Looks like I’m gonna have to do that again soon.

And that’s the Status of the Jayne Hat Knitting. Remember, as soon as I start your hat I’ll be letting you know! 

Now…back to the rest of the day!

~ by rumielf on December 29, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
