Reflecting on the anniversary of the first meeting of Testify!

Testify Cast

Testify! Nashville Repo Shadowcast

It amazes me that it was just about a year ago that we had our first cast meeting for Testify! (the shadowcast). Seems like it was just yesterday and not last February. A year later (and longer for me and my staff) and we’ve had a successful opening at our home venue, been invited to have a panel about Repo at Dragon*Con 2010, and performed at two conventions and are about to perform at our third con (this one out of town). We’ve gone through drama, casting changes, arguments and yet we’re still putting on an amazing show with folks that seem determined to be at our every performance.

Dude. We have fans. At GMX two of them got into a bidding war over the chance to get a front row seat at the show that weekend without having to wait in line. I have to admit, that warms my director heart. (Though due to other things that were going on at the time, everyone that was sitting at dinner with me right before the show will attest to the fact that I was a complete nervous wreck and about to lose it completely.)

It still amazes me that we’ve made it this far. I mean, I tossed around the idea for a few months before October 2009. I had a kick in the butt from Terrance while I worked as his assistant that year at GMX to go ahead and get one started. Then it was me, Lucas and Amanda sitting in Mulligan’s one night in November having a drink and listening as I tried to convince them that we could do this.

In the time between then and our first cast meeting in Feb. 2010 I had several people tell me that I was being too ambitious. That there wasn’t an audience for it here in Nashville. That I didn’t have the experience for it.

That I just couldn’t do it.

If you know me then you know how I’d react to those things.

Ray once put it in the most perfect way, “It’s Elf’s obsession that’ll get us there.” Or at least, words to that effect.

It’s true though that it’s been a crazy ride to get here. I had no idea what I was getting myself into when I first thought of doing this. It’s not as simple as “let’s get a group of folks together to learn the lines and do a shadowcast of this movie”. Ye gods…if only it was that easy. I’ve learned more about business, management and directing in the past year and 4 months than I ever knew before.

So now as we approach our 4th performance (we’re on track for what we planned!) and the year mark of our first cast meeting all I can do is look back at the struggle and the successes and smile.

My cast, crew, staff and all the con folks we’ve worked with….

All our fans that have been with us from the beginning and those that have joined us so far…

All the venue folks, family and friends that we’ve relied on to help us through….

All the stress, tears, nerves and money out of my own pocket for cast items…

It’s all been worth it. I wouldn’t trade it for anything.

Here’s to another amazing year!!

Testify!

~ by rumielf on February 7, 2011.

2 Responses to “Reflecting on the anniversary of the first meeting of Testify!”

  1. Way to go, Elf! I thoroughly enjoyed the performance I saw at the club near Cummins Station, and was sad that I couldn’t get into the performance at GMX. I’d never even heard of REPO until I saw you post about the performance on Facebook. Now a “Blind Mag” poster hangs proudly in my office and when people see it I get to tell a bit of the story of what goes on.

    Good times. Here’s to many more projects!

    John

    • Aw! I’m so glad that you had a good time at our opening night. And you couldn’t get into the one at GMX? what was up?
      LOL. You really have one in your office? That’s awesome. 🙂 (I have cast photos stuck all over the wall of my desk)
      Well, we’re aiming for another Nashville performance in the next couple of months. You’ll definitely hear about it. 🙂

      Thanks again!!

Leave a Reply

 
