Strangelove Addictions Part 2

I’m rather amused by the number of folks who have read the first “Strange Attractions” entry so I figured I’d write another one. 🙂 Let’s see who I want to put on this list.

Quark from Star Trek: Deep Space NineQuark from Star Trek: Deep Space Nine

I have never before and never since thought a Ferengi was attractive. But from the pilot episode of DS9 I ended up with a serious crush on Quark. I can’t explain it. Maybe it was the colorful jackets. Maybe it was the confidence. Maybe it was his dealings outside the law. I really hope it wasn’t the ears. In any case, I loved Quark so much that when I was first introduced to Buffy and forced myself to watch the whole first season it was made much more bearable by the introduction of Principal Snyder in the last few episodes. When he appeared on the screen I knew I recognized him and the moment he spoke I was all excited and shouting “It’s Quark!!” to my startled cats. Yeah, totally can’t explain this one. My moment of embarrassment regarding this one: confessing to Armin Shimerman at D*Con 2010 about my crush on Quark. I think I practically fled his table after that.

HannibalLecter from Silence of the Lambs/Hannibal/Red Dragon

Hannibal Lecter

Let me point out right now that I love him in the books and preferably played by Anthony Hopkins. I couldn’t stand Hannibal Rising (the book or the movie) and the Lecter in “Manhunter” was horrible. And I hated the movie ending of Hannibal. The book’s ending was absolutely perfect. Hell, I re-read just the ending about 5 times when I first got it. It’s true, he’s a sociopath and a cannibal. But going from my track record of fictional crushes (The Phantom of the Opera, Sherlock, the Joker, Jack Ripner to name a few) are you really surprised? There’s something that makes me shiver in a good way when I think about Dr. Lecter. Yeah, I’m grinning even now.

Disney's FrolloFrollo from Disney’s Hunchback of Notre Dame

Now, in the original novel by Victor Hugo, Frollo wasn’t nearly as cruel and evil as he’s made out to be in every adaptation. The only version where I’ve seen him not be quite as terrible might be the french musical “Notre Dame de Paris”. Still, it’s the Disney animated version of Frollo that I had (and still occasionally have) rather racy dreams about. And once again, I’m only aware of one possible reason. I mean, the character in the Disney movie is cruel, evil, old enough to be my father and then some, and yet…I can’t help but grin like an idiot when I hear the song “Hellfire”. I blame his voice. Tony Joy (who passed away a few years ago) had a voice made for a villain. It’s low, smooth, oily and the man can sing! (If you play video games you’ve probably heard him as the Elder God in the Soul Reaver games.) Yeah, it can only be the voice. And maybe those long-fingered hands…or the nose…or the hat. I’m definitely a hat girl.

And there you have it! The second installment of my “Strangelove Addictions” detailing some of the really weird and mostly unexplainable crushes I have on fictional characters.

~ by rumielf on February 24, 2011.

One Response to “Strangelove Addictions Part 2”

  1. […] and unusual fictional crushes. You’ve already been shown some of the stranger ones (round 1 and round 2) but this one might have several folks nodding in agreement with my choices. Well, with 2 of my 3 […]

Leave a Reply

 
