Deep thoughts thanks to Doctor Who

Doctor Who stuff!

Ah, Doctor Who stuff!

Doctor Who can inspire some amazing thoughts. Or at least, it does with me. Prepare yourselves for some very philosophical bits!

While prepping for my birthday party this past weekend I took a break and flopped on the couch, thinking about Doctor Who and how I only had 2 more episodes to go with the Ninth Doctor (which I watched at the party and will post the live-tweets later today!). Of course that led to me thinking back over the past episodes of this series and I happened to remember one of the things the Doctor told Rose when they first met.

“Do you know like we were sayin’? About the Earth revolving? It’s like when you’re a kid. The first time they tell you that the world’s turning and you just can’t quite believe it ’cause everything looks like it’s standin’ still. I can feel it. The turn of the Earth. The ground beneath our feet is spinnin’ at 1,000 miles an hour and the entire planet is hurtling around the sun at 67,000 miles an hour, and I can feel it. We’re fallin’ through space, you and me, clinging to the skin of this tiny little world, and if we let go… That’s who I am.”

So there I sat, thinking about that particular item and then I glanced at my hand. For a long moment I sat, astounded at how something so complex and amazing could have emerged and been formed out of the thousands of possible combinations of atoms. Then I looked around the living room at all the completely normal things that I’m so used to seeing and found myself marveling at how out of chaos, these things were created. And created by living, breathing, sentient creatures! And humans! How crazy is it to think that we came into being somehow and evolved the way we have.

I mean, what are the chances of such things being created out of chaos?

Heck, even me and all my quirks and thoughts and strangeness……what were the chances I’d become me?

And how lucky we are to be a part of it!

I had to go outside after that and just stare around at the trees and sky and even my car and just marvel at how everything existed!

For those of you now wondering, let me put your minds at ease: I was not under the influence of anything stronger than 2 advil at the time. So while it sounds like I was totally tripping on shrooms or something, I was just struck with a moment of realization.

Thank you, Doctor.

“Before I go, I just want to tell you: you were fantastic. Absolutely fantastic. And do you know what? So was I!”

~ by rumielf on August 29, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
