Shower Musings

I often have some interesting thoughts while in the shower/bath. I’ve come up with some great story ideas, tend to think silly things like “KHAAAAAAAAAAAN!!!” (don’t ask) and sometimes I get philosophical.

Take Saturday afternoon for example.

Earlier that day I’d had a nailbiting experience. You see, my cars tags expire this month and the check engine light has been on for a year. With that light on it can’t pass emissions testing. I had one last option before I resigned myself to hunting for a new used car.

Get an oil change and beg the mechanics to turn that damn light off. They kept telling me, “It might come right back on.” “It might still fail emissions” and so on. I nodded and told them I knew it was a long shot but it was my last option. So they turned it off and I left the oil change place without having turned the car off.

I drove straight to the nearest emissions testing station and sat in line for about 30 minutes…again without turning the car off. So far, the light remained off. I knitted and silently begged my car to hold on for just a little longer.

Then it was my turn in the station and the dude told me to cut the car off and step into the little room. That was when I truly began to worry. What if he turned it on and the light came on immediately? He’d never believe me that it was off all while I was waiting. What if it didn’t pass even with the light off?

So in that little room I sent prayers to every supreme being I’d ever heard of.

My car passed.

As I was standing in the shower later that day I was thinking about how I’d prayed to all the gods and goddesses I could think of and my brain started to form this phrase:

“prayed to every god, real and fictional”

when I stopped myself.

I then stood in the shower for a good long time thinking about that phrase. After all, how can anyone truly prove that any god or goddess is real as opposed to fictional? And you can say that George Lucas made up the Force but didn’t other men technically make up (meaning: write about) other religions?

So if you call one religion or belief fictional, doesn’t that logically mean that all of them are fictional?

And if one is real, doesn’t that mean that all are real?

By then the water was starting to get cold and I abandoned my philosophical thoughts in favor of getting ready to go see Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows part 2 at the $1.50 theater.

But I thought I’d share them with you guys. Thoughts? Opinions?

~ by rumielf on October 10, 2011.

2 Responses to “Shower Musings”

  1. Well, there’s the philosophy of Divine Inspiration, whereby people didn’t make up their gods, but were told what to right by god.

    There’s the philosophy of Inspired Creation, whereby the things that people make up aren’t really made up at all, but are their interpretations of events from far away and long ago drawn from the collective unconscious of all living things.

    And there’s the possibility of coincidence, whereby someone makes something up that just happens to be true.

    Basically, what it boils down to is that there is no way of knowing if any of them are real or not, so your options are a) have faith in your beliefs, b) ignore them all, c) attempt to resolve them all into a coherent whole or d) have some pie. I like to choose option D.

    • That was my point, there’s no way to prove that they exist. And it was interesting how I had to stop in the middle of the phrase “real and fictional” to ponder that.

      Me, I’m a cross between a Jedi and someone on the Discworld. 🙂 And that’s my happy stance.

      I haven’t been struck by lightning yet. Knock on wood.

Leave a Reply

 
